The Accrediting Commission is comprised of ten members. Five members are from DEAC-accredited institutions and are elected by institutions that hold DEAC accreditation status. Five members are appointed by the Commission to represent the public. At least two public members of the Commission must be academics, defined by DEAC as an individual who works full time at an educational institution and who actively teaches, delivers educational content to students and/or engages in educational research related to the institution's mission.

Current Members of the Accrediting Commission

The following individuals are current members of the Accrediting Commission. Click each Commissioner's name to view their biography.

Caulyne Barron,
Chief Academic Officer, Dunlap-Stone University
Term expires March 31, 2021
Chair, Executive Committee

Lucien "Skip" Capone*,
University Counsel, University of North Carolina, Asheville (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2020
Vice Chair, Executive Committee

Michael Harter*,
President and CEO of T.H.E. Inc. and the Tulsa Wedding School (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2021
Treasurer, Executive Committee

Michael Curd,
Vice-President, Harrison Middleton University
Term expires March 31, 2021

Gordon Drummond,
President, Sessions College for Professional Design
Term expires March 31, 2020

Jack Goetz*,
Lecturer, USC Gould School of Law
Term expires March 31, 2020

Cheryl Hayek,
Chief Academic Officer, The Art of Education University
Term expires March 31, 2020

Traci Lee,
President, Sonoran Desert Institute (SDI)
Term expires March 31, 2022

Wanda Nitsch*,
President, University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2021

John Sabatini*,
Divisional Vice President at Laureate Global Products and Services (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2019

*Public Member

Back to Top
Contact Us
1101 17th Street NW, Suite 808
Washington, D.C. 20036
202.234.5100 Tel
Email Us

Please submit your email address to keep up-to-date with the lastest DEAC information.